Posted in The Daycare Life

Busybees and Bruised Knees

My first blog so I had to think of an attention getting title….or at least one that would make you go…what? I hope it worked:)

I began my journey as a daycare provider four years ago and I went with the name Busy Bees’ Daycare. My first two clients, of course, were my sons. My oldest, Noah,  was three and Caleb was still growing in my tummy. I had been talking my husband into this for about a year. I was miserable not being able to be with my child as he grew from an infant to a toddler and was quickly approaching “big boy” status. I knew my daycare provider didn’t tell me all the firsts I missed…..didn’t tell me about all the tears and “I want my mommy” episodes and I am glad she didn’t. However I will always wonder about those missed times and honestly when I let myself go there it really does bring back that worry and panic that you get, especially as a first time mom, when you leave your most prized possession in the hands of someone else. I always say this is the most stressful but rewarding job I have ever had.  Much like parenthood except that I am responsible for someone else’s most prized possession. I know exactly what mom’s go through when they have to go back to work. I am sure it is easier for some moms than it is for others. For me….it ripped my heart out.

So what is this bruised knees stuff. The obvious is that raising boys and taking care of toddlers produces many bruises and bumps. They fall A LOT. They have No Fear. Of course some are more timid and reserved than others but for some reason I haven’t had many of those. Most of the kids in my home, including my own, are couch climbing, chair standing, running full speed wherever they are going, full of spunk and very vocal. Bruised knees may stop them for a moment but then it’s right back at it. They have life to live and so much to learn that there is just no holding them back…..and why in the world would we want to. My own knees have permanent rough spots from crawling around after the babies, getting down to change diapers, and an occasional horsey ride. (side note: in a house with 8 kids ranging from 7 years old down to 1 I do not recommend the horsey ride game unless you have the strength and endurance of an athlete! (so many lessons learned in just 4 short years) Bruised knees are also a symbol of the many times I have to humble myself and cry out to God in prayer. I am no superwoman….definitely not the perfect mom….not even close to having the patience of a saint. If I am honest I should be on my knees much more than I am asking  God to lead and direct me every step, every second of every day. When it all gets to be a bit much He is always there. Even if I don’t go to Him first. God will show Himself to me through an encouraging word from my mom, a thank you or appreciative word from a daycare parent, or from my own child asking me if he can help me or telling me he loves me at 10 o’clock in the morning. At that moment I realize I could be at work.  I would have missed that “I love you momma”. I would have missed that daytime phone call or text from my mom. I smile because this is exactly where God has led me. I smile because someday an 18 year old young man or woman may call me or show up at my door and say, “Hi Leah, Remember me? I used to be a Busy Bee.” I also smile because doing this has made my own mom and I extremely close. It has given us so much extra time together that we wouldn’t have had if I worked outside the home. This, however, is just my first “blog”. Something I have been wanting to do for awhile and I decided to start today.  So I am going to go for it like a toddler running for that squirrel in the backyard.  I hope I don’t get distracted by a dandelion and fall and skin my knees! Thanks for stopping by and come again!

Author:

I am a master of controlled chaos....aka...daycare provider and homeschooling mom. Jesus follower and essential oil lover. I am slightly obsessed with self improvement and all things "natural". I am not afraid to disagree with someone and love a good debate without the hate. A lover of truth and writing and real relationships with "real" people. ❤💜❤💜

2 thoughts on “Busybees and Bruised Knees

Leave a Reply

