Posted in Health and nutrition, Mommy Stories, Whole 30

Day 25 of my Whole 30!

Fruit & Vegetable Platter

I’m in my last week of my 30 day commitment to go without any sugar, grains, dairy, and junk of any kind. I have drank only water and of course my morning coffee with almond milk.  I have been checking labels like a crazy woman. They sneak sugar into everything and if it isn’t sugar it’s some other form of man made junk! Ok this isn’t a lecture on additives and preservatives. Today I have hit the point of “not hungry”. WHAT?! Me?! I love to eat and I love food! One of my worst habits before doing this was not being able to read my “full” radar anymore(or maybe I just didn’t care). Years and years of indulging and I just would eat until I was uncomfortable. Especially if it was something sweet or fried or dripping in cheese. Today I find myself eating a banana for breakfast. A couple pieces of compliant beef jerky in between, a few bites of the omelet I made myself for lunch (I just wasn’t hungry!), and an apple. A short time ago I would eat a couple of helpings of whatever I served the kids for lunch and if it was something really good (pizza, tacos, sloppy joes) I would clean it up. This is an awesome feeling for sure. Could it be that food has lost it’s control over me?

Some of the biggest results so far besides weight loss are that my mood seems much more balanced. Not that I don’t get stressed or frustrated during the day but I do feel like I am more able to control my mood or brush off things that would normally irritate me. I have NO doubt that this has to do with not having those sugar spikes and then come downs from before Whole 30. I feel less foggy and have felt that way since the first week. I am sleeping better. Zero heartburn, indigestion, and I’m not bloated feeling all the time. In the first few weeks I was waking up to use the restroom twice (all the water and flushing) but that has since stopped. I can’t wait to weigh myself next week!

I have mixed emotions when I think about day 31. I’m a bit freaked out to be outside of the strict limits of the whole 30 way of eating. Of course nothing says I have to stop. However I do know me and just like any addiction I feel like one doughnut, 1 slice of pizza, 1 Big Mac and fries and I will go right back to bad habits. These next few days I will be reading up on the whole 30 website for support and guidance on how to tackle this next phase. If you would like to know anymore about Whole 30 here is the link….http://whole30.com/ .

I guess now is a good time to revisit my first 2 posts to jog my memory on why I made this commitment and why I should keep going beyond day 30!

a6dc099cc3128f60bd77ad0adc180f0e

Author:

I am a master of controlled chaos....aka...daycare provider and homeschooling mom. Jesus follower and essential oil lover. I am slightly obsessed with self improvement and all things "natural". I am not afraid to disagree with someone and love a good debate without the hate. A lover of truth and writing and real relationships with "real" people. ❤💜❤💜

Leave a Reply

